Scholarships by Demographics: Find Awards That Fit Your Background

12 min readPublished Last updated

Written by Daniel Mercer Author
Reviewed by Julian Reed Reviewer
Fact checked by Maya Bennett Fact-checker

In short

Start with your background, then check the rules that determine whether an award actually fits: your school year, intended degree, enrollment status, location, financial circumstances, and the provider's definition of eligibility.

Do not assume a scholarship’s name tells you who can apply. For example, APIA Scholars currently welcomes applicants from all backgrounds, while Point Foundation’s Flagship Scholarship includes LGBTQ+ students and allies. Neither should be described as an award restricted to one identity group.

The examples below are a starting shortlist, not a claim that every demographic is covered or every program is accepting applications today. Timing reflects the provider pages checked on October 13, 2026.

Compare real scholarship programs

Programs with specific background or affiliation requirements

Program and official detailsBackground requirement and key fitAward informationApplication timing/status
Ron Brown Signature ScholarshipBlack/African American high school seniors; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; financial need, academics, leadership, and service$40,000 over four years, $10,000 each yearProvider identifies the 2027 competition as open. The upcoming deadlines are December 1, 2026 for applications and December 15, 2026 for supporting documents, inferred from that competition; confirm the cutoff time in the portal.
HSF Scholar ProgramHispanic heritage, across races; eligible citizenship/residency status; full-time qualifying four-year or graduate enrollment$500–$5,000 if funding is awarded; Scholar selection does not guarantee money2026 application closed February 15, 2026. Next application dates not stated on this page.
American Indian College Fund Full CircleEnrolled member of a recognized tribe or eligible descendant; full-time nonprofit accredited college enrollment; minimum 2.0 GPAAmount varies; provider reports portfolio averages of $2,000–$3,000, not a guaranteed individual awardPublished annual schedule: February 1 opening, May 31 priority deadline, January 25 closing. Confirm the live cycle in the portal.
SWE Golden Gate Section scholarshipsWomen and other underrepresented genders, including nonbinary and gender-nonconforming students; eligible Bay Area location; engineering/computer science pathway$1,000–$2,000Opens December 1, 2026; deadline April 9, 2027. Not open yet on the research date.
American Council of the Blind scholarshipsLegally blind students at U.S. postsecondary institutions; generally 3.0 GPA and full-time enrollment, with a stated working/part-time route$2,000–$7,5002027–28 applications: November 1, 2026–February 14, 2027, 11:59 p.m. CST. Not open yet.
TheDream.US National ScholarshipUndocumented immigrant students, with or without DACA/TPS, meeting arrival, academic, financial-need, and partner-college rulesClosed 2026–27 round: up to $33,000 toward a bachelor’s degree, plus up to $6,000 stipendPrevious round closed February 28, 2026. Next round opens November 1, 2026; refreshed award rules and closing date require confirmation.
Tillman Scholar ProgramEligible U.S. military service members, veterans, and current or surviving military spouses; qualifying full-time degree studyIndividual award depends on financial need and educational expenses; no single fixed award amount2026 class applications closed. Confirm the next cycle’s specific dates with the provider.

Community-focused programs with broader eligibility

Program and official detailsWho may qualifyAward informationApplication timing/status
Point Foundation FlagshipLGBTQ+ students or allies; minimum 3.3 GPA; qualifying full-time bachelor’s, graduate, or professional studyAwards up to $15,000; provider describes a maximum four years of supportOfficial application portal confirms November 19, 2026, 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET deadline for 2027–28 consideration. Applications are marked open.
APIA ScholarshipUndergraduates from all backgrounds who meet listed citizenship/nationality or residency rules and can demonstrate high financial need$2,500 one-year awards to $20,000 multi-year awards2027–28 application opens November 15, 2026; closes January 15, 2027, 5 p.m. EST. Not open yet.

An “up to” amount is a maximum, not a promise. A multi-year total is not the amount received every year. Where a program does not publish a fixed value or refreshed cycle information, use the provider link rather than estimating it.

Choose the category that fits — then check the exceptions

Black and African American student scholarships

The Ron Brown Signature Scholarship is a direct example of a background-specific award: its official rules require applicants to be Black/African American and current high school seniors. Current college students cannot apply. Recipients can study any academic discipline at an accredited four-year U.S. college or university. See the program’s eligibility and application guidance.

Ron Brown Signature Scholarship eligibility and application page

Ron Brown Signature Scholarship eligibility and application page

Next step: If you are still in high school, check the application and supporting-document deadlines separately. If you are already in college, remove this award from your immediate shortlist rather than spending time on an ineligible application.

Hispanic and Latino student scholarships

The HSF Scholar Program requires Hispanic heritage but welcomes students of all races. Its published GPA minimums differ by stage: 3.0 for high school applicants and 2.5 for college and graduate applicants. It lists U.S. citizens, permanent legal residents, and DACA recipients as eligible statuses. These details describe the published 2026 program, not an announced new cycle. Review HSF’s official requirements.

Next step: Put HSF on a future-cycle watchlist. Do not budget the award as guaranteed: selection as an HSF Scholar provides access to support services and possible scholarship funding, not an automatic cash payment.

Native American and Alaska Native student scholarships

For the American Indian College Fund, a broad ancestry description is not a substitute for the required tribal documentation. Enrolled applicants can provide tribal enrollment evidence; eligible descendants need documentation linking them to an enrolled parent or grandparent. The provider explicitly says eligibility is not based on a DNA test. Read the documentation FAQ.

American Indian College Fund scholarship application FAQs

American Indian College Fund scholarship application FAQs

Next step: Start with the enrollment or descendancy documents, then your transcript. Ask the provider about missing records before applying. Tribal college students should also ask their own financial aid office about the separate TCU scholarship process, whose deadlines vary by institution.

Scholarships for women and gender-diverse students

Gender-related funding can be highly local and major-specific. The SWE Golden Gate Section requires applicants to identify as a woman or another underrepresented gender, live or attend school within its section boundaries, and meet the engineering/computer science pathway requirements. Its 2027 page covers incoming college freshmen and community college students. Check the section rules and eligible-location resources.

Next step: Verify your ZIP code and intended program before preparing the essay. The section collects reference letters directly and requires them by the deadline; submitting your own form at the last minute can leave too little time for those letters. Do not generalize this section’s gender or geographic rules to every SWE scholarship.

Disability scholarships

Disability scholarships do not all use the same definition. The American Council of the Blind program requires legal blindness and specifies certification from an ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician. It is not a general award for every disability. Its rules also allow a part-time route for students working at least 32 hours per week. Review ACB’s eligibility and documents.

Next step: Compare the provider’s definition with your documentation and enrollment plan. If this particular award is not a match, ask your school’s disability-services and financial-aid offices about other funding rather than treating one program’s requirements as universal.

LGBTQ+ scholarships and ally-inclusive programs

Point Flagship includes allies as well as LGBTQ+ students. It excludes 100% online degree programs and requires qualifying full-time enrollment and a minimum 3.3 GPA. Support begins in fall 2027; it is not funding for an immediate fall 2026 bill. Read the Flagship details.

Point Foundation Flagship Scholarship details

Next step: Match the scholarship to your actual degree and funding term. A community college or part-time applicant should review Point’s other programs separately rather than assuming Flagship eligibility. The application portal lists different requirements for Access and Flagship.

Asian American and Pacific Islander scholarship searches

The APIA Scholarship is relevant to this search, but its current public eligibility is broader than its name suggests: the provider welcomes students from all backgrounds. It requires the listed citizenship/nationality or permanent-residency status, undergraduate degree enrollment, and demonstrated high financial need. Students who already hold a bachelor’s degree or higher are not eligible. Check the current program page.

Next step: Prepare for the November 15, 2026 opening if the listed rules fit. Do not exclude yourself solely because you are not Asian American or Pacific Islander, and do not describe this program as ethnicity-exclusive when sharing it with another student.

Undocumented student and immigrant-background scholarships

For TheDream.US National Scholarship, immigration background is only the beginning of the eligibility check. The posted 2026–27 rules also specify arrival timing, unmet financial need, GPA, enrollment, and partner-college conditions, including exceptions to the usual in-state-tuition rule. The next opening is announced, but much of the page still describes the closed round. Read the official National Scholarship page.

Next step: Check whether your intended college participates, then return when the November 1, 2026 round opens to verify updated rules. Do not carry last year’s arrival cutoff, award maximum, or enrollment term into a new application without confirmation.

Military-connected scholarships

The Tillman Scholar Program supports eligible service members, veterans, and military spouses. Having a military parent does not by itself qualify a child dependent. The detailed rules also exclude associate degrees and certificates. Review the eligibility and renewal requirements.

Next step: Check your relationship to military service and your intended degree before drafting the application. Confirm the new cycle’s dates instead of treating the closed 2026 class application as available.

Build a shortlist without forcing your background into one label

Use these three checks for each program:

  1. Mandatory eligibility: Write down the actual background, residency/status, degree, GPA, location, and enrollment requirements. A provider’s community mission is not necessarily an exclusive eligibility rule.
  2. Funding fit: Record the term supported, whether the amount is annual or a total, and whether renewal or another application is required. For example, the College Fund requires a new application each academic year and does not guarantee renewal. College Fund renewal FAQ.
  3. Next action: Mark the program “apply,” “prepare for announced opening,” “watch for new-cycle rules,” or “not eligible.” Include the official link and the date you checked it.

You can also maintain a second shortlist organized by major, school, employer connection, and local community. This avoids making identity-related awards your entire funding strategy.

Illustrative example — not a real applicant: A Bay Area high school senior who identifies as a woman and plans to study engineering could check SWE Golden Gate’s geographic and program rules first. She could then check an ethnicity-related program if applicable, while separately asking her prospective college about institutional awards. Each application still needs its own eligibility review; a category match is not an award guarantee.

Prepare only the information the provider requests

Keep a working folder with your transcript, activity record, intended degree and school, and references. Add specialist documents only when the relevant program requires them: tribal records for the College Fund, legal-blindness certification for ACB, or military-service documentation for Tillman. The providers’ linked requirements explain these differences.

Do not upload sensitive medical, immigration, or family records to an unfamiliar directory simply to browse scholarships. Use the provider’s official application route, review its privacy terms, and ask which documents are necessary when instructions are unclear. You can research categories privately before deciding what to disclose in an application.

Frequently asked questions

Can I look in more than one demographic category?

Yes. Use each category as a research route, then evaluate each program independently. Do not assume you can receive every shortlisted award simultaneously: Point, for example, says students cannot receive more than one Point scholarship at a time. Point’s scholarship FAQ.

Are all these scholarships accepting applications now?

No. Point Flagship is marked open and Ron Brown identifies its 2027 competition as open. APIA, ACB, SWE Golden Gate, and TheDream.US have announced future openings. HSF and the 2026 Tillman class are closed. The tables distinguish these statuses and link to the providers so you can check again before applying.

Does a demographic match guarantee funding?

No. You still need to satisfy the full eligibility rules and complete selection. HSF explicitly distinguishes Scholar designation from a possible financial award; its funding depends on availability. HSF Scholar benefits.

What should I do when a deadline or new-cycle rule is missing?

Ask the provider and keep the program on a watchlist. Do not replace a missing date with last year’s deadline. A useful question is: “For the upcoming award year, does my degree and enrollment plan qualify, and what are the application and supporting-document deadlines?”

Your next move: Select two or three programs from the tables, open their official pages, and record one specific action for each. Keep closed-cycle examples separate from applications you can submit now.


Official source ledger

All sources below were accessed October 13, 2026. Confidence describes the public evidence, not an applicant’s likelihood of selection. No accounts were created and no applications were submitted.

Program/claimOfficial sourceEvidence/statusNeeded follow-up
Ron Brown: background, school stage, $40,000/four-year award, application/document deadlinesProvider program and FAQHigh for award and eligibility; 2027 competition explicitly open. December deadlines printed without year/time.Confirm deadline year/time; linked application returned a loading/CSS error.
HSF: Hispanic heritage, GPA, residency/status, conditional $500–$5,000 fundingHSF programHigh for the published 2026 program; explicitly closed.Next-cycle rules/dates. Clarify financial-aid instructions for DACA applicants: public page lists DACA eligibility alongside a FAFSA requirement.
College Fund: Full Circle eligibility, variable awards, annual timingCollege-student page and application FAQHigh for published rules, documentation, and recurring schedule; portal cycle not independently inspected.Confirm live award-year availability and relevant tribal-college deadlines.
SWE Golden Gate: gender/location/major rules, $1,000–$2,000, dated opening/closing2027 section scholarship pageHigh; explicit December 1, 2026 opening and April 9, 2027 closing.Individual ZIP-code and program fit; renewal terms not stated.
ACB: legal blindness, enrollment, documentation, $2,000–$7,500ACB scholarshipsHigh; explicit numeric 2027–28 window. Provider weekday labels conflict with those dates.Confirm numeric dates before publication; omit incorrect weekday labels. Some document instructions still reference 2025/2026.
TheDream.US: eligibility and award figures for closed round; next openingNational ScholarshipHigh for labeled 2026–27 facts and November 1, 2026 opening; next-round rules incomplete.Updated amount, arrival cutoff, enrollment terms, partner list, and closing date.
Tillman: military connection, variable award, closed 2026 class, degree exclusionsApplication page and detailed requirementsHigh for current rules and closed status. Main page describes recurring opening but gives inconsistent general window guidance.Confirm next-cycle exact dates; do not extrapolate a new deadline.
Point Flagship: inclusive eligibility, funding, timing and exclusionsFlagship provider page, official linked portal, general FAQHigh; portal explicitly confirms November 19, 2026 deadline and 2027–28 consideration.Clarify whether published “up to $15,000” is annual or another funding interval before describing it as annual; current article does not assume an interval.
APIA: all-background eligibility, need requirement, award range, 2027–28 datesAPIA programHigh; updated main page explicitly supplies new-cycle dates and rules. Linked FAQ still describes 2026–27.Recheck application instructions when opened; prioritize updated main page over old-cycle FAQ.

Competitor page was reviewed only for the issue’s original context. No scholarship facts were sourced from the competitor, and no competitor wording was reproduced.

One profile for every AspireOpen scholarship

Create your profile in about 2 minutes, then apply to the scholarships that fit you. It’s 100% free.

Before you go, see what you can apply for.

Build one profile in about 2 minutes and we’ll show you the scholarships that fit it.

Apply for scholarships