Physical Therapy Scholarships: PT, PTA, and Research Funding Routes

3 min readPublished Last updated

Written by Daniel Mercer Author
Reviewed by Julian Reed Reviewer
Fact checked by Maya Bennett Fact-checker

In short

Physical therapy scholarship searches should begin with training stage. A first professional PT program, a PTA program, and a post-professional research doctorate have different funding opportunities. Enrollment in one does not establish eligibility for the others.

The official routes below were checked October 13, 2026. Programs are verified, but some current values or complete application terms still need confirmation. Use the links to assess fit; do not count unconfirmed funds in an enrollment budget.

ProgramIntended routeApplication distinctionAmount/status
Mary McMillan Scholarship AwardFinal-year PT and PTA students meeting APTA/CAPTE rulesInstitution nomination; no self-nominationAmount not stated in checked material; verify nomination cycle
Access and Opportunity Scholarship Fund AwardsQualifying final-year students; separate faculty routeSelf and peer nominations accepted; community-engagement emphasisAmount not stated; provider lists September 1–December 1 annual nominations
Catherine Worthingham Fellows CSM Student Scholarship FundPhysical therapy studentsDistinct CSM student fund, not general degree fundingFollow linked application for current expenses, amount, and dates
Foundation for Physical Therapy Research PODSDoctoral research routeNot assumed to fund an entry-level DPT2026 awards confirmed; next-cycle rules unverified

APTA Mary McMillan Scholarship requirements and nomination route.

Source: Mary McMillan Scholarship Award

APTA Access and Opportunity scholarship page showing separate applicant tracks.

Source: Access and Opportunity Scholarship Fund Awards

APTA PT Fund page listing conference-related student funding opportunities.

Source: Catherine Worthingham Fellows CSM Student Scholarship Fund

Mary McMillan: secure the nomination first

This award recognizes PT and PTA students nearing completion. APTA’s rules include current association membership, final-year status in a CAPTE-accredited program, and being within 12 months of completing degree requirements. Each institution may nominate one PT student and one PTA student. Faculty or the student body must nominate; students cannot simply submit a self-nomination.

Ask your program who coordinates the nomination and whether its internal deadline precedes APTA’s. Prepare evidence of academic achievement, contribution to the profession, and association service in the form the current instructions require. Do not pay membership dues solely on the assumption that membership guarantees a scholarship.

Access and Opportunity: use the current title and separate tracks

Older references may use different fund names. The current official page is titled Access and Opportunity Scholarship Fund Awards and distinguishes student awards from faculty development.

For students, the emphasis includes academic excellence and meaningful community engagement, particularly underserved or rural communities. The page lists nomination materials, a CV or résumé, an online application, support statements, and an unofficial transcript. Read the student section rather than copying requirements from the faculty section. The annual nomination period is September 1–December 1; confirm the portal’s active cycle before submission.

Conference assistance is not necessarily tuition support

APTA’s PT Fund page links the Catherine Worthingham Fellows CSM Student Scholarship Fund. That confirms the fund exists, but the overview alone does not establish its current award value, expenses covered, or application window. Use the application link to retrieve those terms.

If a program funds attendance at a professional meeting, keep it in your conference budget. Do not count it as unrestricted money for tuition, rent, or unrelated clinical-placement costs without explicit permission.

PODS: distinguish research doctoral study from professional preparation

The Foundation confirms 2026 Promotion of Doctoral Studies awards. Its 2026 FAQ (PODS scholarship page) also states that scholarship funds cannot offset an institution’s existing salary or stipend commitment.

Those published 2026 terms are not proof of a 2027 competition. A student seeking research funding should verify the next cycle’s degree-stage conditions and ask the institution how it would handle the award before submitting. An entry-level DPT student should not assume the word doctoral makes the program applicable.

Create a funding map tied to your costs

List tuition, clinical-placement travel, temporary housing, professional activities, and research costs separately. Beside each opportunity, record the expense it can actually cover, training stage, membership or accreditation rules, nomination contact, and current deadline.

Illustrative next step: a final-year PTA student asks the program about its McMillan nomination, while a research doctoral student monitors PODS. These are different workflows, not two awards every reader should pursue.

One profile for every AspireOpen scholarship

Create your profile in about 2 minutes, then apply to the scholarships that fit you. It’s 100% free.

Before you go, see what you can apply for.

Build one profile in about 2 minutes and we’ll show you the scholarships that fit it.

Apply for scholarships