Build your shortlist in this order: your student stage, the kind of training you need, the eligibility gate and the actual award conditions. That avoids spending hours on material for a competition you cannot enter or counting a training benefit as unrestricted college tuition.
The official sources below were checked October 17, 2026. Only programs with an explicit current deadline are described that way; standing or previous-cycle programs are labeled for follow-up.
Acting scholarships and funding routes at a glance
| Opportunity | Published benefit | Best-fit applicant | Timing / key restriction |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSHSS Performing Arts: Theater | Two $2,000 awards | NSHSS members graduating high school in 2026–29 | October 27, 2026, 11:59 p.m.; provider labels zone “EST”; video and supporting materials |
| SETC Steve Bayless Undergraduate Scholarship | $1,000 on current provider page | High-school student entering college in the SETC region to major in theatre | SETC members only; current deadline not stated in overview |
| SETC Denise Halbach Performance Scholarship | $2,000 | Student pursuing acting or musical theatre at a regionally accredited graduate program | SETC members only; verify active call and complete requirements |
| Grace Kelly Thespy scholarships | $6,000 college awards; $1,000 training awards | Eligible Thespy finalists in specified performance/technical categories | Graduating seniors for college; rising sophomores/juniors/seniors for training; recurring spring route |
| Marion Combs Career Inspiration Scholarship | One $2,000 award annually | Graduating-senior Thespy finalists in any category pursuing theatre | College or career-readiness purpose; recurring spring route |
| Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships | Education funding through a designated school; amounts depend on level/current rules | Eligible college student performers and scene partners | Regional entry and student-status rules; 2027 dates/format not verified here |
Sources: NSHSS Theater, SETC scholarships, Thespy finalist scholarships and Irene Ryan overview. Values are USD and are not promises of renewal.
1. NSHSS Performing Arts: Theater
NSHSS lists two $2,000 Theater awards for members graduating high school in 2026, 2027, 2028 or 2029. The advertised deadline is October 27, 2026, 11:59 p.m. “EST.” Verify the application dashboard’s time-zone treatment and submit ahead of the final hour rather than silently assuming a different zone label.
The official application page requests:
- An educator recommendation letter.
- A performance video of no more than five minutes.
- A response of no more than 500 words about becoming a theatre artist, expressing that talent now and future plans.
- A color headshot suitable for website posting.
- An academic resume.
- A current transcript, official or unofficial.
Membership is an eligibility condition, not a guarantee of an award. Confirm any membership cost and the active form’s instructions before paying for access or committing to a submission.
Choose a performance that genuinely represents your ability and follows the category instructions. The five-minute maximum is not evidence that every type of reel, edited compilation or scene format is accepted. Ask about a format the page does not explain rather than borrowing audition rules from another organization.
The overview does not establish annual renewal, permitted expense categories or every payment condition. Budget the stated $2,000, not four automatic payments, and confirm how funds reach the recipient or school.
2. Steve Bayless: undergraduate theatre study in the SETC region
The Southeastern Theatre Conference’s current scholarship overview lists $1,000 for the Steve Bayless Undergraduate Scholarship. It describes a high-school student entering a college or university in the SETC region to major in theatre.
That is broader than acting alone, but narrower than any college course anywhere. Confirm the intended institution’s regional eligibility and your exact degree. The overview also says scholarship applications are open to SETC members only.
Some external directories list different amounts or dates. Use the provider’s scholarship page and its linked application to confirm the current call; this guide does not promote a third-party $2,000 figure or an unverified April 2027 deadline.
SETC says funds are disbursed in the first week of July and a Google account may be needed to upload documents. The overview does not provide a cycle-specific closing date or the full essay, transcript, recommendation and award-use checklist. Obtain those instructions before treating the program as open or complete.
3. Denise Halbach: a graduate acting route
The same SETC provider page lists the Denise Halbach Performance Scholarship at $2,000 for a student studying acting or musical theatre at a regionally accredited graduate program.
For someone pursuing an MFA or another qualifying graduate performance degree, this is a more relevant lead than a scholarship restricted to high-school seniors. Confirm whether the active call accepts entering students, continuing students or both; the overview’s short description does not settle every enrollment detail.
Membership, the application requirements and current deadline still need checking. Do not assume that admission to an accredited graduate program automatically secures SETC funding. Nor should a directing-only or costume-design award be presented as an acting award simply because it appears on the same scholarship page.
Compare the award with the entire funding package: tuition, fees, housing, health coverage, required materials and any teaching or assistantship obligations. Ask whether external funding changes institutional aid. The SETC overview does not establish automatic renewal or a universal expense rule for all its scholarships.
4. Thespy finalists: college and training are different benefits
The Educational Theatre Foundation’s Thespy scholarships are for students who receive a superior overall rating at a chapter qualifying event and qualify for the final adjudication round. That prerequisite matters: a strong actor without the qualifying route is not automatically eligible.
The dedicated Thespy scholarship page says applications run April 1–30 annually unless otherwise noted. The general Foundation page gives April 1–May 1 for Thespy awards. Resolve that one-day discrepancy in the active portal or with the Foundation; plan to be ready before the earlier date. Neither recurring schedule establishes a currently open October application or a confirmed 2027 closing day.
Grace Kelly scholarships
The provider lists five college scholarships at $6,000 and five training scholarships at $1,000. Eligible categories include solo and duet performance and specified technical design/construction areas, with exclusions listed on the page.
Graduating seniors are eligible for college scholarships; rising sophomores, juniors and seniors are eligible for training awards. A student actor should verify their exact performance category and school stage.
The page describes college support as a four-year scholarship with mentorship. It does not state that the advertised $6,000 should be multiplied by four. Confirm the total value, disbursement schedule, continuation requirements and approved expenses in the agreement. Training support has a different purpose and should not be counted as a portable four-year college award.
Marion Combs Career Inspiration Scholarship
This award provides $2,000, with one recipient annually, for a graduating-senior Thespy finalist in any category pursuing a theatre career. Its purpose includes college or career-readiness pursuits.
The broad category does not establish unrestricted cash. Ask which planned training, education or career-readiness costs qualify and how payment works. Scholarship finalists may interview virtually or at the International Thespian Festival; the provider says attending ITF is not required. Confirm current interview arrangements before budgeting a festival trip as mandatory.
5. Irene Ryan: confirm the region and current festival year
Irene Ryan is a college-student acting scholarship route, not a general high-school scholarship. The Kennedy Center overview says funds are disbursed through a school designated by the winner to pay tuition and fees for further education, not necessarily limited to theatre arts.
The ACTF Management program page explicitly labels its displayed performance format Festival 58 (2026). It describes in-person regional rounds, self-submissions as well as nominations, and a four-minute package comprising one monologue and one scene. Do not reuse that as a verified 2027 package without checking the current region’s instructions.
The displayed student-status framework includes undergraduates registered for at least six semester hours, graduates for at least three, and certain continuing part-time students. Departmental verification and scene-partner status conditions also apply. Partners need not attend the same institution under the displayed rules.
A self-submission option does not eliminate registration deadlines, school verification, rights/royalty requirements or regional procedures. Ask the regional coordinator for the current festival-year entry route, award amounts, partner rules and deadlines before selecting material. Older national pages and current regional announcements can differ in date or format; do not mix their details into a supposed universal current rule.
Build an audition and aid plan, not just a reel
Keep four decisions separate
- Eligibility: Are you the right age, student stage, member and program type?
- Audition or selection: Does your performance or application meet the provider’s requirements?
- Admission: Have you been accepted to the actual school or training program?
- Funding: Do you have a written offer stating amount, duration, permitted use and conditions?
Encouragement from a coach, an audition callback or a department’s recruiting interest is not a scholarship contract. Keep possible awards out of the confirmed budget until the written terms arrive.
Prepare materials to each set of instructions
Maintain an accurate resume distinguishing classwork, student productions, community theatre and professional work. Identify your own roles and avoid presenting ensemble or team achievements as solo awards.
Request recommendations early and give the recommender the real deadline and prompt. A scholarship essay should explain actual experiences and future learning needs, not invent hardship or professional credits. Test performance links outside your own account, and do not expose collaborators’ private information.
For monologues or scenes, follow the current length, identification, recording and rights rules. A school prescreen and a festival scholarship can require different material. Where a provider does not specify a rule publicly, ask; this article does not create a universal monologue package.
Compare the cost left after the award
List tuition, mandatory fees, housing, food, required materials, audition travel and any program-specific costs separately. Ask which are covered, when payment occurs, what academic/enrollment standards apply and what happens if you change programs or take leave.
For training awards, confirm whether travel and accommodation are included. For institutional aid, verify whether outside scholarships reduce other assistance. An advertised award can be valuable without covering all of the training cost.
Frequently asked questions
Do I have to major in acting?
Not every award requires the same major. Bayless specifies theatre, Halbach specifies acting or musical theatre graduate study, and Thespy awards use category and school-stage conditions. Irene Ryan’s further-education funding is described as not necessarily limited to theatre arts. Read the actual award.
Can graduate actors apply?
The SETC Halbach award is specifically a graduate performance route. Irene Ryan’s displayed eligibility includes qualifying graduate students. High-school-only awards such as the NSHSS listing have a different audience.
Does every acting scholarship require a live audition?
No. NSHSS requests a video. Thespy scholarships depend on prior qualifying adjudication and may involve an interview. The displayed Irene Ryan format uses in-person rounds. Exact current rules control.
Are recurring spring awards open in October?
Not necessarily. A standing April schedule and an “Apply” button can remain online after a cycle closes. Confirm the active year, closing date and required materials with the provider.