Automotive training can involve tuition, required tools, transportation and living expenses. A scholarship is useful only if it covers your actual program and the costs you need help paying. An automotive-themed title alone does not tell you whether a certificate, associate degree, collision program or engineering degree qualifies.
Start with two official routes: the Automotive Aftermarket Scholarships Central application for the 2027 cycle and the Ford Auto Tech scholarship administered by TechForce. They use different eligibility rules, payment processes and application systems. Read both before deciding where to spend your application time.
Automotive funding routes at a glance
| Route | Amount or funding structure | Program fit | Current timing and next step |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automotive Aftermarket Scholarships Central / University of the Aftermarket Foundation | One complete application can receive consideration from UAF and additional organizations whose requirements you meet; individual amounts vary and are not established by the general instructions | Full-time students at qualifying U.S. colleges/universities or certified postsecondary automotive, heavy-duty or collision schools; graduating high school seniors planning qualifying full-time study | 2027 cycle opened September 16, 2026; complete application due March 31, 2027 |
| Ford Auto Tech Scholarship / TechForce | $5,000; posted to the school tuition account, with the provider describing eligible cost-of-attendance uses including tuition, tools, living expenses and transportation | Enrolled auto, diesel or auto/diesel students in good standing at eligible postsecondary institutions; U.S. citizens or permanent residents with completed FAFSA and financial need | Reviewed page is labeled 2026 and says applications are open; precise closing date not published in reviewed text—confirm in the current application |
The common aftermarket application is not one guaranteed scholarship of a fixed size. The Ford award is a named $5,000 opportunity with a different set of conditions. Neither description means every applicant will receive funding.Official sourceOfficial sourceOfficial source
1. Automotive Aftermarket Scholarships Central: one application, several possible reviews
The official site says applications for the 2027 cycle opened September 16, 2026, with a March 31, 2027 deadline. Its instructions explain that a complete application is automatically considered by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation and may also be considered by other participating organizations if you satisfy their individual requirements.Official sourceOfficial source
That can reduce repeated application work, but it does not erase sponsor-specific conditions. A participating fund may ask for an affiliation, location, program or reference that another fund does not require. A general application should be treated as the starting point, not proof that you qualify for every listed organization.
Who fits the general application?
The official instructions identify:
- Full-time students at an accredited U.S. college or university, or an ASE/NATEF-certified postsecondary automotive, heavy-duty or collision repair school.
- Graduating high school seniors planning qualifying full-time study.
- No GPA requirement at the general application level.
- Students who will not graduate from their college before December.Official source
The final graduation condition does not specify its cycle year in the general instructions. If your completion date is close to the award year, ask the administrator how it applies before assuming eligibility. Also confirm any individual sponsor’s GPA or program rules; “no GPA requirement” on the common instructions does not establish the same rule for every award.
The site gives priority to students planning technician careers in automotive, collision, heavy-duty or agricultural fields and students planning to work for automotive aftermarket companies. These are stated priorities, not a guarantee that any broadly automotive course will be eligible.Official source
What to prepare
The general application asks for a one-page essay about your career goals, at least one reference letter, your high school transcript, and a postsecondary transcript if you are already in a postsecondary program. Some participating organizations require a reference from one of their members or your automotive instructor. A short YouTube video is optional under these general instructions.Official source
A useful career-goals essay should name the kind of work you are preparing for, explain your actual training and describe your next educational step. If you have classroom or supervised practical experience, identify that setting honestly. Do not turn a school project into a claim of professional certification or independent customer work.
Finish the supporting documents, not just the form
Applicants can save and update the application until March 31. The provider explicitly says incomplete or late applications will not be considered and reminds applicants that transcripts and references are required to complete the submission.Official source
Create separate reminders for requesting references and checking their receipt. Use the current official instructions for document submission and clearly identify your materials. Do not send financial or identity documents to an address copied from an unofficial directory.
What about students attending college in Canada?
The U.S. application instructions direct students attending or planning to attend college in Canada to a separate Canadian application. Do not assume the U.S. form or its published deadline automatically applies to the Canadian process. Follow the official link on the application page and read that program’s own current terms.Official source
Next action: Open the official application instructions, check your program and graduation timeline, and review participating organizations’ requirements. Then request the reference and transcripts early enough to complete the March 31, 2027 application. Ask about individual award amounts and expense restrictions rather than budgeting against an assumed average.
2. Ford Auto Tech Scholarship through TechForce
Ford Philanthropy and Ford Dealers offer $5,000 scholarships through TechForce for students pursuing auto, diesel or auto/diesel technology careers. The official page describes the award as need-based and says it is applied to the student’s school tuition account. It also states that it may support cost-of-attendance expenses including tuition, tools, living expenses and transportation.Official source
The distinction between an allowed expense and the payment route is important. A benefit credited to a school account is not necessarily an immediate cash reimbursement for tools you buy independently.
Eligibility checks
The reviewed provider page requires:
- Financial need and a completed FAFSA.
- U.S. citizenship or permanent residency.
- Enrollment in an auto/diesel program, in good standing, at an eligible postsecondary institution.Official source
TechForce publishes a school list. Check the exact campus and program rather than relying on a similar institution name. If your school is not listed, the application instructions say to choose “Other,” but that form option does not itself establish that the institution is eligible for the Ford award.Official source
Application route and timing
The provider instructs students to create a TechForce profile, select their postsecondary technical school, complete the General Application and answer the scholarship questions. As reviewed on October 15, 2026, the page is labeled Scholarship 2026 and says applications are open. A specific closing date is not stated in the reviewed text.Official source
Treat that as a provider-reported status, not a guarantee that funding remains available until a date invented elsewhere. Confirm the live cycle and closing conditions in the application or with TechForce. Do not relabel it as a verified 2027 award without new evidence.
Next action: Use the official Ford Auto Tech page to check the current school list and reach the application. Ask whether your enrollment dates, training program and expenses fit. Before purchasing tools in expectation of support, ask how the school applies the award and what documentation is needed.
Why this guide does not list every automotive-themed scholarship
A long list is not useful when current terms cannot be established. For example, the AmericanMuscle scholarship page reviewed contains broad eligibility wording mentioning Canadian colleges and high school seniors, while another application instruction requires proof of current enrollment in an accredited U.S. college or university. That conflict needs clarification before a reader relies on the broader interpretation.Official source
Some individual aftermarket award pages also returned only verification screens, not readable terms. Their titles alone are not enough to establish amounts, dates or eligibility. These are follow-up research leads, not additional verified recommendations.
Build a realistic automotive training budget
Separate tuition from equipment
Ask the school for the current required tool list and itemized charges. Record tuition, registration or lab fees, required tools, protective equipment, examinations, transportation and living costs separately. Do not assume a tuition award covers every item, and do not buy optional equipment simply because a scholarship might pay later.
Confirm the credential and format
Write down your program’s full name, credential, campus, start date, completion date and attendance status. A certificate, degree, employer training program and apprenticeship can have different funding rules. Automotive engineering, service technology, diesel and collision training are related, but not interchangeable for scholarship eligibility.
Ask who receives the money
Before accepting or spending against an award, establish whether it goes to the school, a vendor or you; whether it is split across terms; and what happens if your enrollment changes. A tool award might require an approved purchase process. A school-account scholarship might not be available in time for an upfront expense.
Do not count applications as income
Use confirmed award letters in your enrollment budget. Keep pending applications in a separate column and make a plan for any remaining gap. Ask the financial aid office how an outside scholarship interacts with existing aid. If an employer offers support, read any employment or repayment conditions separately; a scholarship article does not establish those terms.
Application checklist
- Confirm that your exact credential, school and campus qualify.
- Check the award year, deadline and any time-zone or received-by rule.
- Read general instructions and individual sponsor conditions separately.
- Request transcripts and the correct kind of reference.
- Write to the actual career-goals prompt using accurate experience.
- Submit through the official application route and check supporting-document receipt.
- Save your submission confirmation and written award decision.
- Confirm permitted expenses, payment timing and enrollment conditions before making purchases.
Frequently asked questions
Are automotive scholarships only for four-year degrees?
Not these general routes. The aftermarket instructions include qualifying certified postsecondary automotive, heavy-duty and collision schools as well as accredited colleges and universities. Ford describes eligible postsecondary auto/diesel students. Your exact program must still satisfy the relevant rules.Official sourceOfficial source
Can a high school senior apply?
The common aftermarket instructions include graduating high school seniors planning qualifying full-time study. The reviewed Ford page requires enrolled students in good standing, so do not transfer the first program’s senior eligibility to the second.Official sourceOfficial source
Do I need a high GPA?
The general aftermarket application says there is no GPA requirement, but individual organizations have their own requirements. Ford’s public eligibility text requires good standing without giving a numerical GPA. Read the actual current award rules rather than inventing a universal cutoff.Official sourceOfficial source
Can an award pay for tools?
Ford explicitly includes tools among possible cost-of-attendance uses, while applying the award to the school account. Ask about the school’s payment process before assuming independent purchases will be reimbursed. The common aftermarket instructions do not establish one tools policy for every participating award.Official sourceOfficial source
What should I do first?
If your program fits, begin the dated 2027 aftermarket application and request its required documents. If you are already enrolled in eligible auto/diesel training and meet the need and citizenship criteria, also check Ford’s current TechForce application. Use the provider’s live terms—not a broad “auto scholarship” label—to decide your next step.